Social Media

Social media has become one of the biggest tools, and biggest trends of the 21st century. It is basically hard to go anywhere in the world without finding someone that has a Facebook, Twitter, Instagram or some other site. I personally think that it is a good thing. It is expanding the world that we live in and offering up more opportunities. I think now a days people are so consumed with the idea that it is a bad thing because everyone is on it and constantly checking their notifications, but in fact, that is just how the world is now, and times do change.

I use it for the main 3 social media platforms I listed above, (Twitter, Facebook, Instagram) According to SocialMediaToday.com the top two most popular social media sites in the world are Twitter and Facebook. –> http://www.socialmediatoday.com/social-networks/2015-04-13/worlds-21-most-important-social-media-sites-and-apps-2015

I like to stay up to date on what is going on with my friends, and what news is going on around the world. I can basically fill both of those needs within a 5 minute check in on my social media apps. And to be completely honest, I have meet so many new people through a simple Facebook request, that would later lead to a meet in person situation that I don’t know who would, and wouldn’t be in my life because of it. According to BrandDignity.com the top reason for the popularity in social media is in fact because people want to meet new people.  –> http://www.brandignity.com/2012/11/6-reasons-why-social-networking-is-so-popular-these-days/

I see my friends basically use social media in the same ways I do, to stay up with recent updates and news stories, while occasionally getting a good creeping session in on the new girl in class. According to MakeUseOf.com some of the biggest benefits of social media are in fact staying in touch with the world, no matter where you are in it. –> http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/positive-impact-social-networking-sites-society-opinion/

I personally think social media is very beneficial to the 21st century person. You are almost out of the loop too much if you don’t use these resources, and can really miss out on some great opportunities without it. I know with sites like LinkedIn it is an actual social media platform for the professional world.

On the flip side of all of this, I do believe there is a bad side of social media. I think some people get so caught up in it that it truly ruins their real personality. All they care about is their social media life and followers, likes, and favorites that they lose touch with their inner-self.

All in all, this world just continues to move towards a more basic platform of everyone uses social media, and it will be a necessary part of life if you want to fit in with the rest of society. With that being said, I do think proper education on social media use is something the country should look into!

Mashable. 2014, June 25. How We Use Social Media, Illustrated/Mashable. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VxdL6xusyKM

 

Leave a Reply

